NumisMaster Logo
Sign In
Free Newsletter

Collector Info
In Print
Site Map
SPMC Honors Clark for Service
By Bank Note Reporter
July 18, 2013

This article was originally printed in Bank Note Reporter.
>> Subscribe today or get your >> Digital Subscription

Frank Clark was honored by the Society of Paper Money Collectors with the Nathan Gold Award for lifetime service to the organization. Clark received the prestigious award during the annual SPMC Breakfast and Tom Bain raffle, June 14 in Memphis.

Clark, SPMC’s current membership director, has served a number of terms on the SPMC board and two stints as the organization’s president.

“Frank is truly a dedicated member of the SPMC and is willing to do anything asked,” said SPMC past president Benny Bolin.

President Awards were also presented at the breakfast by outgoing SPMC President Mark Anderson to Benny Bolin and Robert Moon for their service. Heritage Galleries, represented by Len Glazer and Allen Mincho, also accepted a President’s Award.

Writing honors included the Wismer Award, Book of the Year honors. It went to Pierre Fricke and Fred Reed III for History of Collecting Confederate States of America Paper Money, Volume 1, 1865-1945.

Honorable mentions were captured by Robert J. Kravitz, A Collector’s Guide to Postage & Fractional Currency: The Pocket Change of the Union, second edition; and Harold Kroll, World War II Paper Money and Financial Instruments of Nazi Germany.

Standard Catalog of United States Paper Money CD
Standard Catalog of United States Paper Money CD

The only annual guide that provides complete coverage of U.S. currency in full color with today’s market prices – all on a convenient, portable CD.
Get yours today!

The Forrest Daniel Award for Literary Excellence was won by Mark Tomasko for The Feel of Steel: The Art and History of Bank-Note Engraving in the United States.

Honoring contributions to the SPMC “Paper Money” journal, the Dr. Glenn Jackson Literary Award (for an article using specimens, vignettes, proofs, etc.) went to Mack Martin.

First Place Article Awards winners were Joe Gaines Jr., Harold Don Allen, Paul Herbert, Shawn Hewitt, Jamie Yakes, Douglas Nyholm, and Henry Brasco. Second Place Article Awards went to Joe Gaines Jr., Harold Don Allen, Fred Reed, James Simek, Quintin Trammel, Jamie Yakes, Doug Murray, and Lee Loftus.

A new honor, the Social Media Award, for contributions that “enhance the membership experience using the tools of social media” was presented to Jim Phillips for maintaining the SPMC calendar on the society’s website.

The Nathan Goldstein Award for recruitment was won by several-time recipient Jason Bradford of PCGS Currency.

More Coin Collecting Resources:

• New bundles for paper money collectors are 50% off for a limited time! Find them here.

• Limited quantities of Australia’s Yellow-Bellied Sea Snake 2013 Silver Coin and the 2013 Mongolia Argali 500 Togrog Silver Coin are here!

• Get exclusive collectors’ value packs at special discounts for investing in collectible coins, world coin collectors and North American coin collectors

• Get the 2012 Coin of the Year – limited quantities remain!

• Get them instantly! Buy digital editions of past issues of World Coin News, Coins Magazine and Coin Market eXpress!


Add to:   digg
With this article: Email to friend   Print

Something to add? Notice an error? Comment on this article.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy | Your data is secure
©2018 F+W Publications, Inc., Iola, Wisconsin. All rights reserved.