NumisMaster Logo
Sign In
Free Newsletter

Collector Info
In Print
Site Map
Ullman Gets PNG Honor
By Numismatic News
August 16, 2013

This article was originally printed in Numismatic News.
>> Subscribe today or get your >> Digital Subscription

A Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Eloise Ullman Aug. 12 by the Professional Numismatists Guild at the organization’s annual awards dinner held the night before the opening of the American Numismatic Association convention in the Chicago suburb of Rosemont, Ill.

The award was given to Ullman by ICTA Industry Affairs Director and PNG Associate Member Diane Piret.

Ullman has provided the numismatic hobby and profession with 23 years of service. It is only a small exaggeration to say that from time to time she has held ICTA together with spit and baling wire.

Everybody seems to recognize the threat from an overreaching federal government in matters of tax and regulatory issues. But during her tenure budgets often were skimpy and personnel short considering what the goals were.

Among her notable successes was the creation of dealer anti-money laundering. But she did not do it alone.

Piret herself was honored by PNG also. She is the other half of the ICTA dynamic duo. She received the PNG Significant Contribution Award for her 40 years of dedication and significant contributions to numismatics. The award was given by PNG Board of Directors member Barry Stuppler.

Investing in Collectible Coins Value Pack
Investing in Collectible Coins Value Pack

Get six different resources to hone your investing savvy, all at a great price!
Click here to get yours today!

The 2013 Sol Kaplan Award for helping to rid the profession of fraud and thievery was presented by PNG Board Member Mitchell Battino to fellow New Jersey dealer John Albanese. Albanese is a co-founder of both Numismatic Guaranty Corporation and Professional Coin Grading Service. In 2005 he founded the non-profit Numismatic Consumer Alliance that has helped recover millions of dollars for buyers who were the victims of unscrupulous coin merchants. Albanese was not present. Paul Montgomery accepted the award on his behalf.

The Kaplan Award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation, and is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes.

The Abe Kosoff Founders Award, named after the PNG’s Founding President, was presented by PNG President Jeffrey Bernberg to fellow Illinois dealer and PNG Board Member James A. Simek for his enthusiastic leadership and steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community. Simek was visibly moved.

Simek earlier had given the Robert Friedberg Award for an outstanding book or other literature to Ronachai Krisadaolarn and Vasilijs Mihailovs, co-authors of Siamese Coins – From Funan to the Fifth Reign, published by River Books Co., Ltd. of Bangkok, Thailand. They are were not present.

Simek also was the presenter for the Art Kagin Ambassador Award that was given to longtime Pennsylvania dealer Catherine Bullowa. Named after a former PNG President, the Kagin Award is given for distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill.

Montgomery received an award in his own right. PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman presented the Outstanding Service Award to the Oklahoma dealer for his 14 years of distinguished service to PNG on the Board of Directors, including two years as President of the organization.

More Coin Collecting Resources:

• August special – only 25 available! Order your 2013 Yellow-Bellied Sea Snake Coin Set today!

• Buy new coin price guides, get the ebook free! Learn more.

• IT’S HERE! Order the 2014 North American Coins & Prices.

• Get the 2012 Coin of the Year – limited quantities remain!

• See what guides and supplies our editors recommend for keeping up with your collection.


Add to:   digg
With this article: Email to friend   Print

Something to add? Notice an error? Comment on this article.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy | Your data is secure
©2018 F+W Publications, Inc., Iola, Wisconsin. All rights reserved.